Char dham yatra the complete guide

The Chota Char Dham of India is the name given to the Char Dham Yatra in Uttarakhand. The Hindu sacred sanctuaries of Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri, and Yamunotri are among the four Abodes in the Himalayas. All the four temples are located in Uttarakhand’s Garhwal area. The Hindus place a great deal of importance on the Charm Dham Yatra. Furthermore, it is considered that every Hindu should participate in the Char Dham Yatra at least once in their lives. Chota Char Dham Yatra is one of the most famous pilgrimage routes, with a quarter of a million worshippers paying respect each year. With the hope of being saved by the Lord’s blessings by eradicating all sins.  In fact, worshippers come from all over the world to visit the shrines, and there is an increasing number of international tourists who come out of curiosity and want to learn more about India and its culture. Because of its breathtaking beauty, Himalayan charm, lush woods, enormous valleys, and epic nature all around, the Char Dham Yatra is one of the most majestic excursions to do.

Route of the Char Dham Yatra:

According to Hindu mythology, the auspicious and all-important Yatra should be done from west to east, clockwise, to cover all of the sacred sites. As a result, you should begin your pilgrimage in Yamunotri, then travel to Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath to complete your trek. Whole char Dham yatra can be done.

1st is Yamunotri Dham:

Yamunotri, the Yamuna River’s original source, is surrounded by gorgeous high densely peaks and a vast valley. After the Ganga, the Yamuna is India’s second largest and one of the holiest rivers. As per Hindu mythology, Yamuna is the child of Surya (God of the Son) and the sister of Yama (God of Death). When you visit Yamunotri, it is said that you will be cleansed of your sins. Given the difficult travel, the pilgrims are motivated to reach their destination by their faith and the river’s transcendent significance. Yamunotri is known for its hot springs, where raw rice is cooked and converted into Prasad.

You can start with Haridwar to Delhi, travelling 210 kilometres in six hours. I recommend getting to Haridwar as soon as possible. This will give you plenty of time to visit one of India’s holiest sites, the Gateway to the Gods and one of the world’s oldest living cities. The beauty of the evening Aarati, where all lamps are lit and prayers are offered at the Har ki Pauri, is one of the MUST DO things (aside from touring the city’s various roads and walkways). A dip in the fortunate Ganges, according to Hindus, is a means of washing away all sins and achieving escape from the eternal cycle of death and rebirth. Begin your journey towards the first dham, Yamunotri, as early as possible after taking a plunge in the Ganga. Today’s journey to Barkot will take you about 10 hours and cover 200 kilometres. Barkot is located at a height of 1220 metres. Even though your travel for today will be very long, explore the small hamlet. The rituals and practises of the city will entice you in. The surrounding vistas are breathtaking, and feature the snow-capped peaks of Bandar Punch throughout the year.

2nd is Gangotri Dham: 

Gangotri, the second Dham, is the source of the Ganga and the home of the goddess Ganga. Gaumukh, located in the Gangotri Glacier and 19 kilometres from Gangotri, is the source of the holy river. Goddess Ganga, according to Hindu mythology, assumed the form of a river to atone for the misdeeds of King Bhagirath’s forefathers during his centuries-long penance to Shivji. There is no other river in Hinduism that is as closely identified with it as the Ganga. Ganga has long been revered as THE spiritual purifier, as well as a source of health and prosperity, and is an important component of the country’s religious fabric. The experience of waking up in Gangotri is unique and should be handled as such. There aren’t many places where you can feel as calm as you can here. After Gangotri you can go to uttarkashi  Uttarkashi directly means to “Northern Banaras.” Today’s trek will takes approximately 4 hours to complete and will cover 95 kilometres. 

3rd is Kedarnath Dham:

You can go to sitapur after Uttarkashi from sitapur you have reached to The third dham is Shivji’s own residence, with a magnificent shrine and a breathtaking natural environment. The towering snow-capped mountains, plunging streams and rivers, and lush green meadows and woodlands — as well as the gruelling walk that leads to there — all contribute to the strong faith that this temple inspires. This location has remained virtually untouched for millennia and has its own spiritual aura! For Shivji worshippers, this is the final frontier, the final way to salvation. From kedarnath you will go to Rudraprayad and then badrinath.

4th is Badrinath Dham:

Badrinath and its route are the start of a journey. Pilgrims that visit the spine frequently comment on how the landmarks and landscapes constantly provide a different perspective, a different sensation, and a different subtlety to an encounter. It is believed that it is most difficult part of the voyage, and it can be harsh at times, but only to those who are closed-minded. As Sir Edmund Hillary correctly observed in his expeditions, the trek from Rishikesh to Badrinath is, in many ways, a mental as well as a physical voyage from the ocean to the sky. There’s also a different path to paradise – and spiritual liberty.

Related Articles

Back to top button